So You’re Looking for WinRAR? – MalwareTeks Blog
MalwareTeks - Home Page
Are You Infected? Are you plagued by pop-ups? Problems with Spyware, Malware?
Are you an Anti-Malware Fighter and would like to contribute?
Dedicated to keeping your PC clean of Scumware, Badware, Spyware, Malware, Viruses and Trojans.


So You’re Looking for WinRAR?

Posted by ShadowPuterDude on July 30th, 2007 - Visit Website | Category: Uncategorized ShadowPuterDude
Tags: |

What are the chances that someone looking for WinRAR will type the following into the bowser address bar: http://www.winrar.com (link deactivated)? Probably millions have done this at one time, the official site is http://www.rarlab.com/.

Anyone going to http://www.winrar.com will be redirected to a French site, when they try to click on the “Free Software Downloads” button. There are 11 copies of WinRAR on this site and all 11 are infected with TROJ_STARTPA.QC.

SOURCE: TrendLabs Malware Blog: A WinRAR-lose situation.

Share our articles with others by publishing them to:
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • del.icio.us
  • Slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • blogmarks
  • Furl
  • YahooMyWeb
  • Fark

Leave a Reply





Content © 2006-2008 MalwareTeks - Every post is the opinion of the author

Creative Commons License
All works are licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.