MalwareTeks Blog » Blog Archive » So You’re Looking for WinRAR?


 30 Jul 2007 @ 8:33 PM 
 

So You’re Looking for WinRAR?

 

What are the chances that someone looking for WinRAR will type the following into the bowser address bar: http://www.winrar.com (link deactivated)? Probably millions have done this at one time, the official site is http://www.rarlab.com/.

Anyone going to http://www.winrar.com will be redirected to a French site, when they try to click on the “Free Software Downloads” button. There are 11 copies of WinRAR on this site and all 11 are infected with TROJ_STARTPA.QC.

SOURCE: TrendLabs Malware Blog: A WinRAR-lose situation.

Share our articles with others by publishing them to:
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • del.icio.us
  • Slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • blogmarks
  • Furl
  • YahooMyWeb
  • Fark
Tags Tags:
Categories: Uncategorized
Posted By: ShadowPuterDude
Last Edit: 30 Jul 2007 @ 08 33 PM
308 views
E-mailPermalink
 

Responses to this post » (None)

 


Comments are open. Feel free to leave a comment below.


 

Leave A Comment ...

 

 XHTML:
You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>
\/ More Options ...
Change Theme...
  • Users » 9
  • Posts/Pages » 187
  • Comments » 116
Change Theme...
  • VoidVoid « Default
  • LifeLife
  • EarthEarth
  • WindWind
  • WaterWater
  • FireFire
  • LiteLight
  • No Child Pages.
  • No Child Pages.
  • No Child Pages.
  • No Child Pages.
  • No Child Pages.
  • No Child Pages.